SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New setup for a novice on a tight budget

Hi All,

I am a complete novice looking for advice on my first ever telescope purchase. 

I watched the film Interstellar (I appreciate this film divides opinion) and it has fuelled my interest in the stars and space in general. So much so that I barely think of anything else at the moment ?

Therefore I am looking to buy my first telescope so that my son and I can look up at the stars and hopefully see some good views of the planets. 

I am on a tight budget of around £200 and have been looking at the Celestron LCM 114mm Computerised Reflector Telescope. Does anyone have any experience with this particular one?

Are there any others that are recommended and within my budget?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Matt

Hi Matt and welcome to SGL.  You have come to a good place for advice.  I don't have personal experience of the scope you describe but someone may be along soon the does.  I will pass opinion though as follows.  I believe that particular scope will disappoint from an optical point of view.  It has I think a spherical mirror (cheaper to produce) but does mean it needs further optical correction by way of a barlow lens or similar.  It will not perform as well as a parabolic equivalent. Secondly, getting a computerised GoTo system in the package at that price tells me that the scope is made on a very tight budget.  Finally, your desire to view planets will be thwarted as they are not in good positions for a good while now with the possible exception of Jupiter and that is deteriorating.

P.S. I see Peter has recommended a Dobsonian.  That would be much better optically.