Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

collimation eyepieces

Hi,

Just wondered if it makes any real difference to which eyepieces are used during collimation as there seems to be a huge price range. Are the £15 ones on ebay from china any different than a £40 one.

Has anyone used a cheap one?

I have a c6-n and know this needs collimation to be done well.

cheers

spill.

okay thanks knighty2112.

I was looking a getting a none laser one as I have read that the laser can also need collimation and as I am new to all this its just one extra thing to sort out.

Below is £65

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Celestron-Collimation-Eyepiece-1-25-Inch-94182-/281900789790?hash=item41a298b01e:g:s3oAAOSwHaBWijLm

and this is only £15

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Telescope-Cheshire-Collimation-Eyepiece-Scopes-1-25-for-Newtonians-Full-metal-/111904654299?hash=item1a0e0983db:g:wFEAAOSwEeFU~6O~

I know the £15 one is a cheap chinese one but am I only paying for brand or will the cheap one really be a waste of money?

Generally speaking ebay is not the place to be looking for new astro equipment. Have a look at the FLO Cheshires. The one they are selling for £26 is the same as the one you're looking at on ebay for £65. I've got the more expensive red Cheshire and can vouch for the build quality and accuracy.