SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Iris processing

alexbb

Hello,

One Saturday ago I shot some frames on Iris nebula. There should be 21x300s frames at ISO1600 taken with an unmodded Canon 550D, Tair 300s at F5.6 on an AZ-EQ5 guided with dithering. Enough darks and bias, no flats yet. I could take the flats later for vigneting removal, but I could spare some margins.

The result of what I processed until now is here, I could probably lower a little the noise, but I'm not good at processing. Yet :D

I wonder if anyone would mind to show me what they can pull out of my data. The stack is made with DSS, unbalanced and converted with GIMP to 16 bit integer tiff from the original autosave file.

jpg: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0ByhJ_xuQxcnjMlhTT0sxMk5VY3M

tiff processed: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0ByhJ_xuQxcnjM1RJTENwU2l2QVE

tiff unprocessed: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0ByhJ_xuQxcnjcjZ0bzNON1ZDcFE

Thank you,

Alex

NGC7023-F300-2016-05-28_p9.jpg

I did have a quick go earlier but didn't really improve it much. As has been said, the best way to improve it is to get more data, especially with Iris as she has a lot of dusty stuff around her that needs depth to bring out.

I did think the black point was slightly clipped, try and leave a bit of space to the left of the histogram.

It is a really nice image though and you have good colour from the 550D. Lovely round stars as well

Really good!

The Iris nebula for me too was a very tricky object. I was only able to get anything satisfying with 9.8 hours exposure time and thats using LRGB method, pure RGB it would have taken ages.

The 'issue' is that that dark area of the dust in this target is one of the focus points, and getting dark areas with low noise is like getting the background to a low noise level, takes either lots of integration time, or you have to process the heck out of it.