Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Your thought process to target selection

matt-c

Just a bit of curiosity about how you pick your targets for those big multi hour mosaic type pictures I see on this forum. 

I'm still an extreme novice but have recently started making a few lists of things I'd like to pick out in the year to come instead of my normal set up and......... "I'll try this" attitude which has seen me waste the few clear nights we get. 

How do you personally go about deciding? Do you browse the forums and see what's being imaged?  Maybe try something very difficult that is rarely done?  Or is just an impulsive I haven't done that why not type? 

Just a bit of fun to see people's thought processes while the cloud is thick

I keep a list in Notes on my iPhone of targets, organised month by month, constellation by constellation, with best equipment to use. As I see an image that interests me, whether in posts on here, magazines, talks, tv programmes or wherever, I can add the target to that list to investigate further later. Then it's on to the good old Internet to see what exists already and to decide whether it is worth pursuing and how. Unfortunately the list seems to grow far quicker than I have sky time for!

When it comes to imaging time, using the target list and Sky Safari, I know what I will be imaging so that precious sky time can be taken full advantage of. I'm in my early days of imaging so I haven't exhausted the known, or at least familiar, universe quite yet! After that I guess the challenge is to start searching for my 'Squid'....... I may be some time!