Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Still struggling with eggy stars

Since I last posted on this subject things have not improved.  After the last post I thought it might be sag due to threads not being sufficiently tightened. They are all tight now.  Also it was suggested that the polar alignment might be off.  I have spent a couple of nights getting that better.  When I did a PHD2 drift align last night the azimuth Dec line had zero slope and the altitude had an error of 0.03" so I presume that the PA is pretty good.

I slewed to Capella, re-calibrated and then took a 600 sec exposure via BYEos. The result was dreadful :hmh:  I nearly threw it away, but then thought it might help in resolving the issue.

The centre stars are reasonably round but are egg-shaped in the corners, particularly the top corners.  Also the reflection (???) around Capella is not centred on the star.  Does that give a clue?  Apologies in advance for the image, as I said it's dreadful:

56f270b161c12_600sectestimage.thumb.jpg.

Equipment used all as in signature below.  Any help gratefully received.

Round stars in the centre and eggy ones in the corners are usually indicative of wrong reducer to sensor spacing or droop in the image train.

Hopefully someone will run you image through CCD Inspector.

Can you post an enlarged image of the four corners ?

Dave

I am no expert so take what follows with a large pinch of salt....