Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which Solar Filter Do I Choose??

NSastronomer

Hi all,

I'm a newbie astronomer, and just purchased my 1st telescope, a Celestron NexStar 127SLT.

I've been able to use it twice, but it's been so darn cold and uncomfortable here in nova Scotia Canada, that I have not been able to really put it to the test thus far.

Right now, I'm still gathering accessories and other goodies necessary for doing what I would like to do with this scope, mainly observing and astrophotography and video of the planets, moon and sun, and also later on, whatever DSO's I might be able to see with this scope, although I know it's not really meant for that purpose.

I finally was able to observe the moon for the 1st time the other night (the 2nd time I've used the scope), and I've already photographed Jupiter with a cheap converted webcam that I have until I buy a good one.

Sorry to rant, I just wanted to give you an idea of my intentions and what I have so far, now, onto my question :)

I've purchased a solar filter from Amazon.ca, but I'm still awaiting it's delivery, hopefully it will arrive soon, it's just the film, I have to build my own ring/cap to hold it on the scope.

It is this:

6"x6" Solar Filter Sheet for Telescopes, Binoculars and Cameras by Thousand Oaks Optical

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00W6BK2WW/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I hope it's not against the rules to post links here, if so, slap me and remove it! LOL

What my question is about is what kind of view I'll get with this, and what other filter can I buy to get a different kind of view.

I'm currently looking at Astrozap's webpage, they sell "two kinds of full aperture and off-axis solar filters using Baader film and glass materials to fit all popular telescope sizes" according to their website.

So, for my telescope, which filter should I get that will give a different type view than the Thousand Oaks Optical filter I will have soon?