NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

How many light frames and which lens?

Hello all, I am sorry if this is a daft question but how many images is a good starting point when stacking? I have done a fair bit of Milky Way imaging but I now want to have a go at deep space stuff.

Further to the how many frames question which lens would be best, I have a 10-20 lens that I use for Nightscapes but I see lots of people shooting at 200mm, I have a 70-200 f2.8, would this be the better option?

Thanks in advance

John

in simple terms, the more the merrier, some will be unusable due to cloud etc., so take lots, I usually go for 50+ ....

and then darks, bias, lights...

As for what you'll see on your camera, have a look at this site http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm. Just enter your camera, which lens your going use and a target..

As a beginner myself it's an interesting lesson to learn that doubling the number of frames doubles the quality, so 32 frames are six times better than one, but to be seven times as good you need 64 - the returns get less the more you do, although you can load the dice by deleting poor frames. I seem to be getting results with 40-60 frames that encourage me to keep going. I need to start experimenting with longer exposures, so I suspect it will be longer exposures and perhaps fewer frames .

A classic target for a lens of that sort of length is the North America Nebula, but you could also do M31.