Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Vertical streaks

While I'm pleased with the star shape and colour in this image of Merope in the Pleiades, there are some very strong vertical bands. I'm guessing these are caused by the camera and could be reduced by using flats (I only had bias & darks for this shot), except the same bands (but fainter and narrower) appear when I use flats.

Am I right about the cause or could it be something else?

post-43529-0-13590100-1446108246_thumb.j

Hi

Looks like sensor-dependent banding (read) noise to me. I'm not an expert but - probably best reduced by using a low iso, and not stretching the image too much. It may not calibrate out - check your master dark, bias and flat frames. I think the problem can be temperature dependent - lower = better. Maybe try to match temperatures of lights and calibration frames. StarTools has a utility to reduce horizontal or vertical banding.

Louise

That was 20 30s subs, grabbed near the end of the lunar eclipse - I just noticed the Pleiades were high and bright so I swung the scope round before finishing up...

I suppose the sensor would have been quite warm after spending an hour and a half taking 255 shots of the moon back to back,the latter half all 15 second exposures...

A bit nervous as my Andromeda shows them (but much less noticeably) and that was 64 frames with ~ 20 each of darks, flats and bias.

I've just looked at stretched versions of my darks, flats and bias. They aren't on the darks at all, but very faint on the flats and quite noticeable on the bias frames. Perhaps this is because the bias frames get stretched the most. They look finer, and I wonder if the effect is worst when a relatively small number of frames is stacked with small movement between them?

I will bear in mind the advice about flats at the same temperature - I tend to do mine in the morning.