NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Best way to log my observations?

pipnina

My dad had suggested keeping a log of some sort as to what I've seen. I was thinking I could use google sheets (web version of excel) but it might be a bit clunky?

I'm no artist... So skething may not be the route for me (esp since I have to share a scope with dad when observing, he'll want a turn, too!) What other methods do you guys use to log your sessions?

~pip

Notepad and pen. When you get in type it up if you so desire. Simple, quick, cheap.

John

Actually, I might do that. Thanks!

such a simple solution I didn;t even think of, trust me to miss the obvious!  :rolleyes:

~pip

I make my observations in a hardbacked notebook. No lines, plain so I can do simple sketching as well. Some of the pages are quite messy, bordering on incomprehensible. I then come in and type them up into intelligible reports and post them on here. Posting on here provides opportunities for people to say yeah you saw that correctly or give advice if you missed the blindly obvious!

I find it helps my observing to do this as not only do I have to pay attention at the eyepiece but I have to reflect and decide afterwards whether I actually saw what I thought I did and also makes me really digest the descriptions of each object so what each object looks like, particularly under certain conditions, becomes concrete in my mind.

John

If you log your observations by writing, I wonder if a Dictaphone would be useful for on the fly observations... Later to be written...I find that the last thing I want to do in the wee hours of the morning is to be writing in a notebook or bathed in the glow of an led screen before shut eye....