Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Star Adventurer: can't guide - ST4 cable?

Hi all

I've been trying out my Star Adventurer and decided I'd try and configure it with a finder guider via the ST4 port. I'm running PHD2 and have configured it with a qhy5l-ii mono as camera and 'on-camera' for mount. I appreciate I don't have any motorised movement in DEC. However, I can't get it to calibrate? :( My first thought was maybe a faulty ST4 cable so tried another and still the same. I've tried it with PHD1 too - no change. The ST4 cables are the ones that came with the qhy5l-ii cams. I've never tried them before but it doesn't seem likely that both would be faulty - but... Tried connecting one of the ST4 cables to the heq5 but still couldn't seem to elicit any movement with 'manual guide'. Am I missing something? Any ideas/suggestions?

Thanks

Louise

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Its a bit late to dig the manual out, i can't say i have ever heard of anybody guide with the SA....

It has an ST4 port Auto Guide port though for RA guiding only. However, I'm wondering whether the problem is with the qhy5l-ii port...

Anyone used the qhy5l-ii ST4 port?

Louise

It has an ST4 port Auto Guide port though for RA guiding only. However, I'm wondering whether the problem is with the qhy5l-ii port...

Anyone used the qhy5l-ii ST4 port?

Louise

I'm wondering whether I need to use the non-Ascom qhy5l-ii driver?

I'll investigate when I can but it doesn't look like I'll be seeing any stars before next Wednesday...

Louise

I have only ever used mine with a 600D + 100mm F2 lens, it track 3minutes perfectly i would think 5 minutes is on the books, really depends what you are going to hang on it....weight wise...