SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Wanted: Tips for organising star parties and public observing sessions

simonperks

Hello all,

I'm a freelance science writer based near Bristol, UK, as well as a keen amateur astronomer. I’m writing a feature article for Popular Astronomy magazine about how to organise engaging and entertaining star parties for members of the public and am keen to seek the views of fellow astronomers who have experience of organising public observing sessions.

Consequently, I was wondering whether anyone might be able to spare a few thoughts on some questions about organising star parties. The sort of things I have in mind are (and please excuse the rather long list here):

• Where are the best places to hold a star party? What makes for a good venue?
  • When is the best time to hold a star party, in terms of time of year, phase of the moon, etc.? (I’m taking it as a given that ‘at night’ will work well…)
  • How do you try to ensure a clear night for star parties? For example, do you have a list of potential dates and issue a ‘go / no go’ each day, or do you choose one date and hope for the best?
  • What are the best sorts of observing targets for a public audience? What gets the best reception?
  • Do you have a list of targets for telescope operators or do you let the operators choose what to look at? What do you think works best?
  • Are some types of telescope better for public observing than others? If so, which? And what about binoculars and naked-eye observing?
  • Roughly what ratio of telescopes to visitors works well, do you think?
  • Do you use talks or presentations in addition to actual observing? Does this work well?
  • How do you get experienced observers involved in running star parties? Is it easy or do you struggle sometimes?
  • How do you manage people on-site at star parties? Is there a structure or do people wander freely from scope to scope?