NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

New Lunt 60 owner looking for advice

Snaxmuppet

I get my new Lunt 60 on Wednesday and as I have never used a solar scope before I wondered if you might have some advice for a beginner on setting up and observing. It has a B1200 BF and it is has the pressure tuning. I will be using a AZ-EQ5GT mount with a solar tracking speed.

How would I polar align the mount so I can use the tracking?

Nice scope, you'll enjoy it I'm sure.

If you are observing not imaging, why not use the mount in AZ mode? Much easier to align and the eyepiece stays in a more comfortable position.

Nice scope, you'll enjoy it I'm sure.

If you are observing not imaging, why not use the mount in AZ mode? Much easier to align and the eyepiece stays in a more comfortable position.

Thanks. Yes, I thought that was the better option. In fact, in part, that is why I got the AZ-EQ5GT... so I could use it in AZ mode for visual. I will of course be in EQ mode when imaging :) Still not sure I I might align it. I might just use manual tracking at first using the handset.

Thanks. Yes, I thought that was the better option. In fact, in part, that is why I got the AZ-EQ5GT... so I could use it in AZ mode for visual. I will of course be in EQ mode when imaging :) Still not sure I I might align it. I might just use manual tracking at first using the handset.

You can align it in a home position ie tripod levelled, scope pointing north and also levelled. This should get you close enough to find the sun, then make sure you select solar tracking. I use an AZEQ6 and purely do visual so only ever use it in AZ mode.

I use mine on a SW Star Traveller and just plonk it down and aim it north with a compass, good enough to keep the Sun centred for hours in solar tracking mode, once you've found it that is :) worth getting a Sol Searcher.

Dave