Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Recommended Eyepieces

Hi all,

Total newbie here and just had the Celestron 76EQ as an early Father's Day present - didn't want anything pricey just in case it wasn't for me, even though I love astronomy/astrophotography and for £60 this was a bargain!

Anyway, been out tonight just getting to grips with what is what and what does what and trying to line up the red dot guide and realised it only came with two eyepieces and when I used both to focus on a lamp post, it occurred to me that they aren't very powerful. I couldn't test them for real as its so cloudy and windy but all I'm interested in really is the moon, Jupiter and Saturn. I'd love to see Saturn's rings and would like to see Jupiter's moon - a bonus if I could see one or two bands of Jupiter as I know I won't get very good results with such a cheap telescope.

Can you guys recommend anything to help me achieve this, whether it be eyepieces or Barlow lenses but obviously as cheap as possible too. I need to get a t ring and adapter to mount my camera too so my budget is tight.

Thanks guys!

Hi and welcome to the forum :smiley:

I'd have a go with the eyepieces that came with the scope before investing in others. I think the scope comes with 20mm and 10mm eyepieces giving you 35x and 70x.

Your scope is capable of showing you that Saturn has a ring system and Jupiters 2 main cloud belts and it's 4 brightest moons with the 70x eyepiece though the planets will look small. Frankly 100x will be about the most power that is useful with the scope.

Never easy when the person literally has just got hold of a scope.

The 2 supplied are not good, they are so not good that they could put a person off of ever carrying on, and that really is not good all round.

How about a little compromise?

Set the finder and scope up, try the 2 you have to get familiar with all the assorted bits and what they do.