Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Planning to buy a first class refractor

I aam planning to buy a first class refractor within 8 to 10 months from now. I have looked at Takahashi TOA 150, CFF Telescopes and TEC. No Astrophysics as I do not have the time nor patience to wait several years for a telescope. I understand that both CFF and TEC are oil spaced. I have had no experience with oil spaced telescopes. I shall appreciate the views of owners or prior owners of these there brands of scopes. Second, what are the pros and cons of the oil spaced (other than providing for the transmission of light)? I understand that the yellowing of the oil is no longer an issue (or is it?).

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Like Michael I'm impressed by our TEC140. :grin:  Visually I can't fault it at all. I bought mine second hand after seeing a couple of others which stay regularly at my place. There's another working robotically here. None of these four has ever given the slightest cause for concern. TEC are a responsive company with Yuri Petrunin responding to questions himself. One thing which particularly impressed me was the TEC's ability to handle Alnitak photographically. The image below shows a 10 minute luminance sub from a monochrome Atik 4000 CCD. On the left the data is linear. On the right it has been given a pure logarithmic stretch (by moving the grey point slider to the left in Ps Levels.) What is truly remarkable is that, despite the stretch, Alnitak has not bloated and is still clearly resolved as a double. I have never seen this from any other refractor and I've used some good good ones.

Alnitak%20TEC140-L.jpg

I don't doubt that you'd be thrilled by a 150 Tak either but, for me, the very reasonable price of the TEC (in the unreasonable world of refractor prices) made it irresistible. Oil spacing is not only optically sound but also brings down costs a little, I'm told.

Olly