Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

1st night using my telescope

Kaznkev

I'm just back in after spending a bit of time outside working out the basics of setting up my telescope. Balancing / focusing etc.

As I've said before in another thread I'm new to this and I'm starting from the beginning with everything.

I got some great views of the moon,which I've read is the best thing to look at when beginning.

I had a good look around as well but I'm not really sure what I was looking at.

I suppose I'll have to keep reading.

I was using a skywatcher BK P13065EQ2. With the 25mm and 10mm lenses.

Does anyone have any advice on what would make my viewing even better? (Other than better knowledge)

Should I be looking at buying more lenses or just stick with what I have until I gain more experience?

I can't believe how clear the view of the moon I had. The sky was really clear tonight and (although I didn't really know what I was doing) I thoroughly enjoyed having a look about.

Hello Kaz best advice is to learn your stars and way around the night sky. A star atlas is a good investment or an app for your mobile phone if you have one then there is the ever popular Stellarium which you can down load free to your computer laptop. Any of these items will give you the position and name of a target in the sky which you can then go and find, this will give you much more enjoyment when deciding what to look for once your familiar with your kit and the sky you could then look at better eye pieces.

jupiter is in a lovely position at the moment, bright star to the east, then look south and you will see 3 stars in a row this is the great orion. if you look through your finder you will see a grey smudge (probably see it naked eye) use your least magnifing eye piece, highest number and you will see orions nebula m42

Welcome to SGL.

Get a copy of Turn Left at Orion.