NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Lenses, lenses, lenses!!!!

Hello all

Although been learngin over the last year I am still a bit of a newbie and could do with some advice.  

I have a skywatcher 130P which is suprisingly good, however Mrs Shminky has just asked me what I want for xmas - a dangerous thing to ask!!! 

I am thinking about getting more than the standard lense that came wioth the 130P which are good but I could do with upgrading. I don't yet own a Barlow but I do have a moon filter. Mrs Shminky is totally hooked on the Moon and Jupiter so I would love for her to see the colour just a shade more and was thinking a set of lense may be a good thing.

Do you have any advice on an ok  (lets say up to £150) lense kit that would compliment my scope while also giving me a good bit of Barlow action?

Alternatively do I just whack all of the money into a good Barlow?

Any advice is as always much appreciated.

Thanks fellow gazers :D

Drshminky

The BST Starguiders would suit your scope pretty well, they are a good performer and the price is sort of right for the scope.

If 3 then it would I guess be the 5mm 8mm and 25mm.

Is there a budget that your wife is anticipating.

One aspect is that if you get a bigger scope then they will still do well on whatever next, Even if you went for more top end eyepieces then the BST's would still be excellent as a set to use at times when dropping a £200 eyepiece in is inappropriate - public events etc.

So they cover what you have now and what may come in the future.