Hello from Newcomer needing advice

I am a retired scientist/engineer living in Felixstowe, lots of sunshine and very little cloud. I have been passionate about astronomy all my life but never owned a telescope. Now is the time. My body is not in good shape and standing for long periods let alone standing on a ladder is not on. My thoughts are that a good resolution live video feed is now a serious option together with a "permanently" mounted telescope on the flat roof part of our bungalow.

So I am torn between the idea of the Celestron CPC 1100 GPS XLT and a much bigger dobsonian, say the skywatcher 350p, ease of use vs sheer photon count.

My interests are everything that can be seen. I am as fascinated by the craters of the moon as by the amazing colours and shapes of  nebulae.

I would be very grateful for guidance.

Many thanks

Apologies in advance for this:

Get  a smaller scope, you say "not in good shape" then ask about 2 relatively heavy scopes.

You will not see colours on nebulas, what you see is a sort of grey.

The only one that people report "colour" from is M42 and that tends to be a slight hint of green and from memory a 14 inch scope and above.

The images on the web and in magazines have gone through many hours processing, usually the colours are false. I have seen M42 in red, green, bue and the best was a mauve. All are false colours.

Many are processed from scopes that operate in wavelengths we do not see - Spitzer, Chandra.

I suspect not what you were expecting to have as a reply - my apologies, but the reality of astronomy is a scope is heavy and they are used in the cold so size and weight are very relevant. So whatever you get you are stood outside in the cold bent over.

A CPC 1100 has to be picked up and carried as one lump, a Dobsonian can be in 2 parts, may be more. So the individual bits are lighter.