Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Chesire v Cap?

Really dumb & noobie question I guess, but...is it worth buying a Cheshire if you already have a collimation cap?

I have a cap - dead easy to use & centre the dot. Through the cap everything looks pretty much spot-on going by Astro Baby's great advice & pics.

What would I gain in terms of improved collimation by using a Chesire?

I don't really want to incur expense if the cap pretty much fits the bill...(call me Scrooge...but the money could go on other - cough, TeleVue - objects of desire :))

Thanks for any advice from all you Professor Collimators!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm new to collimating for my 12" Dob. I sold the laser that came with it, made a cap and bought a Cheshire for £20. I use the cap for the 2ndry and the Cheshire for the Primary. As you can tell I am now the world's expert on collimation. ;-)

I started with the 35mm film cap, then laser, then Cheshire in that order. Everything can be done just with the cap as you so rightly stated. I bought the Cheshire to see if there was any further accuracy I could achieve over the 35mm cap. I think it is better, so if I need to collimate, i'll use the Cheshire to align the secondary and the primary. I'll use the laser with a Barlow when in the  field/garden/dark site to check collimation.

Because the Cheshire I use is a 'long tube' version the  field of view  is narrower, ensuring for me a little more accuracy. My Cheshire came from Skys_the_limit.

The collimation cap is probably the best tool for secondary alignment as it is so easy to see what is going on. It really does make good sense to use a Cheshire for the primary alignment though. Not that my opinion can be trusted on this as I like calibrated lasers too :grin::evil: !!