Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron - Evolution, CPC or Advanced VX?

I have had a Meade ETX 125 for a few years now and I am getting the itch to upgrade.  This 'itch' was prompted by seeing the new Nexstar Evolution series.  I thought the 8 inch evolution would be the next logical step.

By way of background: for the moment the scope I do buy will need to be set up and taken down (in my back garden) each session.  I will begin by doing primarily visual observing (that's all I really did with the ETX).  However, I am a keen photographer and have a fair bit of photographic gear, including an Nikon D800E DSLR (this model also shoots video).  At some point I am, at the very least, going to want to stick the Nikon on the end of whatever scope I do buy.

As I continued to research the Evolution, however, I came across the CPC series.  This looked a substantial piece of kit and I went to have a look at one.  It was a little on the heavy side, but seemed manageable.  For around the same money, it seemed I would be getting a fair chunk of kit - it looked to me that the CPC would be much more stable than the Evolution.  I figured that I could live without Wireless and I could live without the built-in rechargeable battery.

So I was getting close to pulling the trigger on the CPC 800, when I noticed the Advanced VX Edge HD 8" package.  OK - I can also do without the GPS on the CPC (after all I am going to be observing at the same place each night).  It is a little less money, but the scope itself seems to be a step up in quality.  Furthermore, it looks like it could take me some way into Astrophotography if I ever caught that bug.