Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice on Scopes for Imaging.

Hi Guys,

I am currently using an Celestron 76EQ and i am looking at upgrading to get something that i can make my first steps into doing some AP with. However, as always i do not have huge amounts of money to spend. I wondered if there was any tips on a good all round scope for a beginner that will also be good for doing some AP.

I am probably going to have somewhere around the £400 - £500 mark to spend. I had been looking at the Nexstar 127 - And the Skywatcher 127 (is there any difference apart from the badge between these scopes?) anybody using these care to share their thoughtS?

Thanks ! 

I'm far from an expert but can mention what others may well be thinking as they read your question.

If you haven't got and read Make Every Photon Count get that first.

As mentioned the mount comes before anything if you want some good images.

Not looking at this myself but I've seen people quote your budget plus more on the mount alone, AP is not a cheap road to travel.

£20 of the book may well save a lot of heartache and in the end save you a lot of money. I know if I was spending that much I'd want something I want to keep and be happy with rather than thinking if only I had saved for another £100.

The 127 Maks with GoTo are nice planetary scopes and a great start to get into planetary imaging, with a modified webcam.

With the budget you have, that's where you should be looking at.

As to start out with long exposure astrophotography you will need a budget at least twice as that.

As a mount like the HEQ5Pro or Advanced VX alone will already cost more than your projected budget.

Cheapest entry would be a HEQ5 Pro mount with a 150PDS Newtonian. Which will set you back around 1000 pounds, incl. Power and adapters.

And that is if you already have a DSLR.

Thanks Guys.

I am aware that the money i have to spend on this is not a huge amount and i would be limited as to what i could do.