Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

question about DSLR's (once more)

Twiggles

From some forum searches and reading I see the canon 300d comes up quite often as a budget entry to dslr photography. For under a hundred quid, this does seem like a tempting entry level camera (from that well known auction site). Now, bearing in mind that I have NO experience in using these sorts of cameras (and yes I do intend to purchase making every photon count), is there anything in particular I need to beware of?

I will be using the camera with my Skywatcher 130m, not at prime focus but to take widefield (I think thats the term) and startrails. Just to be sure that what I think I am saying matches what I am trying to say(!) I want to get a budget camera second hand, and use it with my motorised EQ2 mount to take pictures using the cameras lens, not attaching it to the scope for now. So, is the 300d an ok camera to start with, what should I avoid.

Apologies for any confuddled beer talk ;)

Personally I wouldn't go for anything less than 350D...........As that's where canon cameras noise level started to get a fair bit better.............you can pick them up easy online for anywhere between £75-£100 with lens...ect.....I own two, modded and unmodded.....both are very good begineers cameras and cheap.

Life gets easier around the around the 400D, 450D & 1000D era with full control of the camera over USB with the added benefit of the faster USB2.0 interface... The earlier models are noisier, need to use the remote shutter socket for exposures of greater than 30s - of course if your are on a tight budget just about all these problems can be overcome...

I have still got modified 350D and 1000D cameras...

Peter...