Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Orion nebula!

I've just spent the last 25 mins looking for the orion nebula and I've found it! Im feeling rather pleased and thats another target to tick off my list! Really I need to go out amd do some proper alignment but at the moment im happy with using my yard for the comfort of being able to run in when im getting cold! I love this hobby!!!!!

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Im still learning all the time I've only been using a scope for 3 weeks. So what do you mean by averted vision?

Averted vision means not looking directly at the object, but looking to one side or above/below it. This allows the more light sensitive areas of your eye to be used and you see more detail in faint objects. Takes some practice but becomes second nature after a while. Note that it is not needed on bright objects like Jupiter.

Did you spot the Trapezium in the Orion Nebula? Four little stars in a, well.... in a trapezium shape :-)

Stu

Congrats Sam. You've just viewed arguably the most popular object (most certainly the most popular nebula) in the observable universe! There are others that I find just as impressive (the great Eta Carina nebula, the Tarantula nebula, the Omega/Swan, the a Eagle, etc. to name a few more, however the former ones I believe only us in the south are fortunate enough to see) but M42 is one you'll certainly go back to time and time again.