NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Problem with Skywatcher 250p flextube

speed1268

Hi All, I am new to this but after buying our daughter a Skyhawk 1145 synscan last Christmas,and after visiting the Kielder Observatory felt we needed something bigger!. I recently got a Skywatcher 250p flextube after reading various advice here.

After set up though i can see only a lot of fuzziness. i contacted the guy i bought it from and have after much faffing with the old laser collimater(ie collimating the collimater!!)

Have been out tonight and can see stars now but still not in true focus.

Things i have done.

1. Left it outside to cool down.

2. Have tried to collimate it, but am not sure the Seben is accurate to be honest.

3.There is some dust on the primary mirror which i have NOT touched!

If anyone has any advice i would be grateful,including anyone that might service these scopes around the South Bradford area

Thanks speed

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Speed,

what eyepiece are you using, does it get into focus at all (stars getting smaller and bigger again) or don't you even reach near focus?

Even if you eyeball collimation, it should get into focus, even if contrast isn't ideal... As long as the secondary isn't pointing in the wrong direction ;-)

Hi Thanks for the quick reply. I have tried what looks like a higher quality than we had 20, but returned to the trusted 25 we used on the skyhawk. Originally, As an initial test looking at the moon the 250p couldn't get a view i went back to the Skyhawk and once again had an excellent view.

Could dust cause this? Or is the mirror about light gathering?

Ta speed

Hello,

dust can reduce the contrast but even if it's quite visible, dust particles only cover a small area of the optics (total surface wise).

Large amount of dust and even scratches would not prevent the telescope from reaching focus. Perhaps a galon of pudding would ;-)