Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron CPC series. Unanswerable question?

Is there such a thing as a generally accepted lifespan for the electronics of these scopes? I have no personal experience of GoTo etc.The context involves the possible purchase of a used scope without being able to see it or try it out first or even have knowledge of the owner (apart from phone calls). I realise that it could depend on the age, how it has been kept and used and your luck. I am simply trying to assess the risk involved. I also appreciate that a brand new one could be faulty and that you may have no problems for many years. However excluding the extremes and the possibility of a lemon or an unscrupulous seller is there anything specifically to look out for? I quite understand that it would be best to see and try it out beforehand.

Thanks

Dave

Conventially electronics has what is known as a bathtub reliability curve. That is it suffers a higher failure rate at the begining due to manufacturing defects. The burn in period usually not longer that 6 months  but with failures tending to occur almost immediatly. After that the failure rate is low and constant until wear out measured in years ( say >10yrs) However our electronics are married to mechanical devices which themselves have seperate reliability curves. I would suggest mechanical failures dominate long term reliability.

We still get failures due to operator error ( reverse polarity and the like) Eventually connectors and cords fail due to continuing insertions. In my opinion the standards manufacturers use on their connectors is willfully poor. RG style telephone jacks and concentric plugs.

Dave, there's always going to be an element of risk when buying anything second hand I suppose however I'd imagine anyone who'd parted with their hard earned cash to buy one of these in the first place would have been a fool not to look after it.