Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

so, ive started thinking about my first scope

The two I am thinking of are a skywatcher 150p refractor or a skymax 127 mak-cass. Either one with an EQ3-2 mount. I will be looking for second hand equipment maybe between £200 and £275 max, I have seen a couple around that price.

I dont exactly have a main interest but would like reasonable detail planet views as well as looking for DSO's.

I am a total beginner but dont want a goto as I want to learn the skies and want the satisfaction of finding things manualy.

Also, any advice on what ep's I would idealy need for the two subjects, also given a quite limited budget.

Hi, either telescope will suit your purposes well though I would choose the Skywatcher 150P. Too early to think about new eyepieces, best see what comes with any scope and try those out first, and then you can see what your viewing preferences are before you spend hard-earned cash.

A Heritage 130P would be very portable to flee from light pollution, or a 6" dobsonian. Tracking objects is easy even at High magnifications.

A 8" would be the best choice if you are looking forward to See Details on deepsky objects, in a 5" you will see shapes of galaxies and under excelent conditions a little bit of detail, but no complex spiral structures or dust bands on most.

http://clarkvision.com/visastro/m51-apert/

Once in a while a 8" is sold cheaply, 200£ or sometimes even less.

Though even on 5" the ring nebula, star clusters and galaxies are amazing, I don't mean to make them sound bad, I enjoy my 5" telescope a lot.

As for Eyepieces I agree with the above, though a 30€ Wide Angle UWA eyepiece, or even a 10€ Plössl, can increase the experience greatly.

Higher magnification for planets is often desirable (if the seeing conditions allow it), and the wide field view and eye relief of the UWA eyepieces is very nice to have.

Good luck choosing your telescope, have fun!

Hi