Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Universal Astronomics Unimount Light.

For some time now I've been searching for an ideal way to mount my 15x70 binocular. I've been striving for stability, freedom of movement and comfort (well, as much comfort as possible with a straight through binocular!)

I tried the monopod/trigger grip ball head approach first, and although a brilliant grab & go set-up, I quickly decided I wanted a more stable tripod mounted platform.

Next up I tried a Horizon 8115 tripod & head, the less said about that one the better! Basically, the tripod is quite good but the head left a lot to be desired! To cut a long story short, I ended up with a pretty decent Manfrotto tripod and fluid video head (475b/502AH).

I've been using this set-up for a few months now and although very stable, approx 60° of altitude is about as much as my neck can take! As well as that, the higher the angle of altitude, the closer the binocular gets to the tripod, and as such, things start to get cramped. This is where a binocular with angled eyepieces would have a huge advantage. So, after much deliberation, I bit the bullet and purchased a parallelogram mount......

post-11833-0-02140900-1370297154_thumb.j

post-11833-0-53084800-1370297205_thumb.j

post-11833-0-20815500-1370297253_thumb.j

The Unimount Light is rated at 12lb capacity (providing the ultra swing hinge is not used), 10lb with the hinge attached. My 15x70 Helios Apollo weighs in at 5lb, so not overly taxing on the mount. In saying that though, the mount, weights and bino assembled on the tripod is over 20lbs & getting close to its 26lb rated capacity!

Whether standing or seated, even reclined, the comfort & freedom of movement is just a joy! The range of motion is amazing. From a seated/reclined position I can take in huge swaythes of sky without repositioning the chair. Not only does the binocular swing through 180° via the swing hinge........

post-11833-0-09502100-1370297296_thumb.j