Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Recommendations for my first imaging target

Can someone give me some pointers of which objects I should be looking at imaging for my first shots?

Is there some easier than others, because as a noob I don't want to try something that's too difficult and make this hobby any harder than it already is. :grin:

I live in a rather light polluted area with a good view to the West and South.

I was thinking M51 for a start, good/bad choice??

Cheers for any advice

And just how do you propose he images that from 53N ?

The obvious but boring answer is the Moon , but for Deep sky objects the cluster M13 , M5 and M92 are good starters .

M51 may be a little tricky in light polluted skies .

Can someone give me some pointers of which objects I should be looking at imaging for my first shots?

Is there some easier than others, because as a noob I don't want to try something that's too difficult and make this hobby any harder than it already is. :grin:

I live in a rather light polluted area with a good view to the West and South.

I was thinking M51 for a start, good/bad choice??

Cheers for any advice

Hi,

I am with Steve, find an easy and bright cluster first to practice on, M13 is good to start with for its bright core but the surronding stars are not so bright.M51 is not easy, M101 is even more difficult., if you have to have a go at a galaxy then perhaps you could go for M81-M82 but they are not easy to get a good capture of.

A.G

Thanks for the replies lads.

Spent 2 hours last night faffing around with my kit and still didn't get it all set up properly. Lots of lessons learned for tonights attempt.

Cheers

M13 looks pretty good even with the full moon, Andromeda Galaxy M31 should be visible if you have a reasonable Northern view, but you will need to stay up for this and the view will be much better with no moon. Might be okay at the weekend as moon rise is heading to 2am.