Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which 4" refractor for astrophotography

I am considering a 4" or so refractor to set up an imaging rig on an HEQ5 Pro with a William Optics 66SD for a guide scope. I have had a look around and have a list of OTAs that look like they might suit the task.

They are...

Altair Wave Series 102mm F7 Super ED Triplet APO (102/715);

TS PHOTOLIN'E 102mm f/5,2 Flatfield Super APO telescope;

APM 107/700 F6.5 Super ED Triplet APO w 3" APM focuser;

William Optics FLT 98 APO Triplet;

Skywatcher Esprit ED 100 PRO 5-element.

These vary from about £1400 to £2300.

My budget is around £1700 but could increase for the right OTA (and flattener/reducer if required).

I only want to buy once and am prepared to wait. I am a relative newbie where Astrophotography and refractors are concerned. Looking at the short list, i have a few concerns from looking around the internet...

Altair - a bit slow at f7 and no dedicated reducer yet?

TS 102 - not found any reviews etc on them?

WO - Recent quality / build issues concern me.

Esprit 100 - Really stretches my budget and they don't seem to be in stock anywhere.

I would be interested in peoples thoughts on these or any other scopes...

Many thanks,

Lee

What sensor are you using? I'm assuming DSLR?

I know you said 4" but i'm going to clutch at the 'or so' and plug the 80mm as a starting point.

I'd agree with nightfisher, the 80ED is a very good starting place - it's maybe not a dream 'scope and a touch slow at f/7.5, but it keeps most of your budget intact while you work your way up the learning curve and easy to sell on once you become limited by it. I've not owned one since it was the insanely good value gold tube (think it was £220 new at one point!), but the field is reasonably flat and most of a DSLR field of view is usable without a flattener. Crop the corners and you still have a ton of sky left to work with.