Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

first time cluster hunter

hi all,

thought i would share my first experience of looking at star clusters from last night. im pretty new to astronomy, and always been keen to observe galaxies as the thought of looking at something so far away that could possibly be home to a planet not unlike our own has always appealed to me. as was the case last night when i was trying to view the leo triplet. i managed m65/66 earlier this week, but wanted to see if i could spot ngc 3628. the seeing was not brilliant for me last night and i was unable to see it.

i still has about an hour to go before i had to go inside so this left me pondering what to observe next. as i had never really bothered with star clusters i thought that this would be a perfect time to start. i pulled out a sky map and decided to have a look at m3 and m13. looking through my brand new bst starguider 18mm in my 200p dob these clusters looked very impressive, but left me wanting to increase my eyepiece collection (18mm was not really enough magnification i think, and as i said, im a newbie so the 18mm is the only decent eyepiece i have purchased so far)

still having a little time left, i thought i would try m103 in cassiopeia. now for me, this was the most impressive sight of the night! this open cluster was like a glittering treasure trove of diamonds sparkling away, but what i liked the most was the colours of the other stars that made up the picture. the reds and the yellows mixed with the blue white stars was amazing. while i can appreciate people saying how good clusters like m3 are, i cant believe i have never heard m103 being mentioned as one to look out for!

has anyone else seen this one, and what did they think?

thanks for reading

ian

I've never checked out m103 actually but have had a look online and it does look lovely. Some great colouration in there as you say.