Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What should I be able to see?

Ok, so I have had my first proper scope for a couple of weeks now, and I love it! I've had it out a few times, have observed the moon a lot, Venus at various stages too (cool to be able to see the moons in different positions). I have seen other cool stuff too, but couldn't for the life of me tell you what it is, and that's with the help of Stellarium. The scope is a Skywatcher Explorer 130P, I am pretty much limited to 2 viewing sites, one with light pollution pretty much in the middle of a small town, another pretty much a dark sky. So, assuming decent viewing conditions (and knowing where to look), what can I expect to see with my scope? Andromeda? Triangulum galaxy? The Sombrero galaxy? Great nebula in orion? As you may have guessed, I am a serious newbie. I've spent hours out, just moving the scope around and seeing what I can spot, but it would be nice to know where my expectations should lie. Thanks for any advice

Hello :),

You will certainly be able to see andromeda and orions nebula! I have struggled with the triangulum galaxy in my 200p. I think it relies on very dark skies and good conditions tbh.

Have you got the book 'turn left at orion'? I haven't myself but I hear nothing but good things about it, maybe worth a purchase :)

Dan

From your dark site you should be able to see most if not all of the Messier objects. From your location you may struggle with a few in the south. As you have seen there is plenty of interest in the solar system, just wait until you see Saturn.

A good beginners guide is Turn Left at Orion which covers about 100 objects, season by season, showing you how to find them, what you can expect to see and a brief description of what you are looking at.

Thanks Dan. It's good to know that it is worth persevering with the likes of Andromeda.