Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Is this a crazy/stupid idea?

upahill

Hi All,

I am a complete newbie, but whilst waiting for First Light with my new telescope I have been reading through some of the threads on here about DIY observatories. I have quite a big barn which I could build one in, ready to move the garden so I was thinking about different designs which would look good, and also be easy to produce in a kit-form for anyone else who wanted one.

Anyway I came up with this so far..

dometop_zps441d3a40.png

I think for my own use I would want it to have a diameter of approximately 2.5m and have a decagon wall around 1m high. The idea being that the panels are all constructed in a modular fashion that can be bolted together in a hour or two max. Each panel would be PVC outside, bonded to a 50mm Celotex or similar insulation with a wooden (or maybe ABS) framework. So the whole structure wouldnt weigh very much.

The central hexagon (shown as missing) would lift up using some form of linear actuators meaning it could be opened and closed electronically via a remote, the section of wall underneather would obviously be a door.

The next challenge would be to make it rotate on its supporting wall. Which I would probably do using a steel circle mounted on the wall with a track that the decagon roof would 'click' into. This could then probably be motorised/automated somehow.

Anyway, at the moment its idea stages, but I need a new project to sink my teeth into and keep me busy on cloudy evenings.

Thoughs appreciated.

Sam

From that Image, I have to wonder how your telescope would have access to the zenith.

Rotating it would also seem to present a problem design wise.

Of course it could be modified to rectify both difficulties.

It would seem to me to be easier and more convenient, to make a hemispherical domed enclosure.

Fibre glass being the material of choice perhaps.

Ron.

Hi Sam,