Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Quality of Binoculars

Hello all,

I am total newbie to Astronomy, but willing to learn, always wanted to have a closer look at the sky at night fascinating to me. I have hit my first hurdle, and i ain't of the starting blocks yet, thing whats giving me bit of headache is i want to start with good pair of binos, told that i have got to get myself a pair of 25x100, but looking through the webs sites you get identical/exact the same specifications but it seems to be how they are put together is dictating price differences, is it the higher price binos priced higher for what i call whistles & bells, does exactly the same job but one looks nicer shiny machined parts, if anyone got time would they have a look see what you think, 2 companies ive looked at are below, both seems identical specs

The ones i was looking at are at www.scopesnskies.com and a company called www.garrettoptical.com

Any advice greatly received

Kind Regards

lee.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As Steve says, not a good choice for a first pair. Although the views i'm sure would be stunning. But heavy binos are very awkward to use. You can't hand hold them and the things don't work well on your average photo tripod. Near on impossible to view objects at a reasonable altitude.

But that's not to say all large binos are tricky to use. I recently bought some Revelation 15x70 and I've been getting so much enjoyment from them. Their field is narrow compared to the 10x50's but the deepsky, open clusters etc just look so much better. And they are very light, weighing barely anymore than my Meade 10x50's. I've not bothered with a tripod yet. I bought both pairs, 10x50 and 15x70, for £65. It's the most i would want to spend i think. But they both offer excellent value (fully multicoated, Bak4 prisms etc).

Russ