NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

8in dobsonian vs 90-100mm refractor for beginner

Hi, I'm new to stargazing but am looking for some advice. I am in the navy's nuclear program and unfortunately do not have much free time; hour to an hour and a half tops at night. I have been using binos for a while now and have decided on getting a telescope. I probably will not have much time to set up a telescope however am leaning toward the dopsonian. Is this type of scope hard to setup and require much time? I would like something somewhat hassle free due to my time restrictions but really like the light gathering ability of the dobsonian. If time to setup before viewing is too great I may have to go refractor. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also, what are some good models of scopes for both routes? Thanks.

shane

Hi and welcome to SGL!

A mirror will take longer to cool than a small refractor, but unless you keep it in a really warm place then you can still start observing fairly quickly - but leave the more critical observing eg planets until a bit later in your session.

A dob is easy to set up - carry out, (ideally leave to coll for a short while, but see above), pop in an eyepiece, and you're away. A refractor is simialr though.

A refractor is lower maintenance, no colimation, but aperture will show more. Its also cheaper to get a good quality mirror than a good quality refractor. So if you're on a budget you'll certainly get more for your money. If you choose a refractor be sure you get a steady mount or it'll end in frustration through wobbly views. If you travel a lot the refractor might win on portability.

If you were to get a good quality refractor and a solid mount, then personally I don't think there is a wrong answer between them. Just choose one and enjoy the views :-)

Helen