Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Orion Nebula and Andromeda Galaxy

Hello, I've got a skywatcher 130p. I am a complete beginner so please bare with me lol

My question is that why can't I see the glow of the Orion Nebula and the Andromeda Galaxy?

I've posted pictues of them using a 25mm eyepiece and a digicam with +2 exposure and ISO 1600.

Is this the best I'll get. If not, then any tips on improvements on my seeing and/or pictures?

Thanks

post-26234-0-54069600-1351766669_thumb.j

post-26234-0-54549900-1351766730_thumb.j

I am no imager but you'll find it extremely difficult to get images of these objects with a webcam I feel.

they are bright for their type but really very faint objects from an imaging point of view.

in your eyepiece, with your scope you should get good detail of M42 but M31 might be a fuzzy cloud with a brighter core. light pollution will affect both objects as it does with all faint targets. hope this helps.

If you can't see them well it's because your sky is too bright (i.e. light polluted by streetlights etc). It may look black, but that's only because your eyes adjust to that level and no further. A truly dark sky is one where you can see the Milky Way clearly. If you can take your scope to a place like that then you will get fine views of the Orion nebula and M31. Not like photographs, but bright and impressive none the less. Even from a moderately light polluted site it's possible to get pretty good views of them, particularly the Orion Nebula.

If you want nice images then you will need possibly deep pockets. I have just started imaging and for planets you need webcam

but for DSO's you need DSLR or CCD camera to do them justice. Plus lots of other stuff, mount, guiding, software etc etc

The darkside seems to suck in cash like a black hole LOL

velvet

If you want nice images then you will need possibly deep pockets. I have just started imaging and for planets you need webcam