NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

PHD Guiding

I've been guiding with PHD and a QHY5 on an ST80 for a few months now, and generally calibration and guiding run smoothly. The one minor glitch that I haven't been able to solve is how to avoid star saturation. This puzzles me because my choice of guide star seems fine for calibration and PHD will start to guide without any problems, but within a few minutes it reports that the "star is saturated" and the guiding graph becomes jagged. This happens every time no matter how careful I am with the guide star selection, making sure to avoid excessively bright stars.

Does anyone know what causes this problem and how to avoid it?

Thanks,

Roy

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hmmm, I've noticed this too. It seems to happen when PHD detects too many bright pixels within your star. Or it could be because the star profile isn't a good shape, possibly due to focus or seeing. Things you could try are decreasing the exposure time so that pixels do not saturate (i.e. reach the maximum level of brightness), or reduce the camera gain (use the Brain icon when PHD is not guiding to reduce this a bit).

Also, try asking PHD to show the star profile when this happens. It should look "normal" and not concave or anything else odd looking. If you do get an odd looking profile, post a screen capture here for analysis.

Anyone got any other solutions?

Roy,

I am very interested in this thread because I am having the same problems with my QHY5/ST80/PHD setup. This is a new setup for me (EQ5 purchased in the spring) and I have been trying to get it going for the new season. Last night I managed to get it to guide for a couple of minutes before I got the dreaded star saturation warning. I was also seeing the PHD icon bar flash red, I don't know why it does that??

I will post my settings if I manage any improvement. I think poor seeing could be a factor, it was much clearer last night in between the clouds.

Peter.