Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First telescope... I'm stuck...

Hello

I have problems with my decsion for my first telescope.

Help would be much appreciated!

My budget is somewhat limited, I don't want to spend more than 600 EUR. If I really enjoy this hobby, I'll probably want to invest more at a later stage. Imaging would be nice, but I don't know whether this is realistic at such a low price point. I have tried to look for star parties but I can't find any! I can read about CA, focal ratios, FOV, astro photography, refractors vs reflectors all day, but I have no actual hands-on experience.

I guess I'm looking for a solid allrounder.

I'm probably more interested in image quality than portability. The telescope should still be somewhat portable - I don't have a car. I'm an avid hiker and I don't think that I will have a problem lugging around 20 to 25kg of gear, but I think that's the upper limit.

I'm from Switzerland and unfortunately there are aren't many telescope dealers around. Almost every shop either sells Synta telescopes (Skywatcher, Celestron, etc.) or expensive telescopes from Takahashi, TeleVue, ...

I don't want to buy a Dobson or a Newtonian-Reflector. My main reason is that, if GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) occurs, I could reuse an existing mount and buy another OTA. I also don't want to deal with collimation issues etc. at such an early stage.

Telescopes I found in my price class here in Switzerland:

• Skywatcher Evostar 120/1000 refractor with an EQ-5 mount (and pretty much every achromatic refractor from Sykwatcher or Celestron below this. This is the only one that seems to come with an EQ5 mount tho.)
  • Skywatcher 127 MAK-CASS with an EQ3-2 mount
  • Celestron Omni XLT 127 SCT with a CG4-mount

That's really about it.

I could go the "import lottery" route and buy telescopes from Germany:

• TAL 100 RS with an EQ5 mount
  • Skywatcher 127 MAK-CASS with an EQ5 mount