NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Running a Solar Viewing Session at Local School

Helen

On Friday, as part of the STEM AMbassador scheme, I'm spending the day running solar viewing sessions for the first 2 years at our local secondary school.

This is my first time, so I'm a little nervous! I know quite a few of you on here have lots of experience of running outreach sessions, and working with schools, so I thought I'd pick your brains on what to do and what not to do!

The brief from the science teacher is that primarily she wants them to see that science is a lot of fun. She'll be with me, and I'm hoping we can get a couple of the lab assistants out with us too (they were very interested when I took the scope up to show the science teacher last week). So here's what I'm planning

I've managed to supplement my own Ha scope and CaK set-up with 2 more Ha scopes, a couple of white light set ups and one solarscope cardboard box viewer (rather neat actually!).

Weather permitting ! I'll get all these on driven mounts except for the PST. My thinking is that as its easy to find the sun with a PST if I just put it on an easy manual alt-az mount I can demonstrate how the sun moves...

I plan to put a camera in the CaK set up and run a laptop (appropriately shielded so they can actually see the screen!)

I may also put a camera in one of the Ha scopes so that the kids get an idea of what they can see before using the visual scope - do you think this will help? or will it take away the wow factor of seeing solar detail with your eye first?