Skywatcher 200p Dob. Vs 200p Explorer.

Hi all, I know this thread appears alot but I'm deciding on which I should get....

The Skywatcher 200p Dobsonian Or the Skywatcher 200p Explorer?

There's a big gap in price difference and I hear that the explorer is better for images but both need a HEQ5 if you want good images from them.

What do you think? :)

I have the EQ5 model 200P. Works fine for imaging DSOs - exposures up to 50 seconds are the limit but I am still learning to tweak polaris alignment.

I think HEQ mount is only needed if you are going to get 'serious' about imaging :- if that is you then you must understand the need to spend more money in the first place!

I'm gonna be keeping an eye on this thread as I'm also looking to get one or the other when I upgrade.

From what I've heard the Explorer is easier to track, imaging etc but the dob has what every dob has, portability.

in a nut shell if you want to practice imaging , i would go for the 200 on a gem .

if you want to do visual ,with maybe planetary imaging the dobsonian would suit.

that would be my understanding.

Quote: "From what I've heard the Explorer is easier to track, imaging etc but the dob has what every dob has, portability. "

-- The Dob has a longer FL so how is it more portable (Dob=1200mm EQ=1000mm)!?

My 200p OTA fits comfortably in the boot of my hatchback and the mount in the back seat.

About the limit though. Any bigger and you'll need a larger car.

The 200P Dobsionian if f/6 so 1200mm focal length. the Explorer 200P is f/5 so shorter at 1000mm focal length.

For imaging you would need the Explorer 200P and a sturdy equatorial mount with tracking motors at minimum. Better a very sturdy EQ mount with the capability to run an autoguider if you want to get good images. The scope is sold as a package with the EQ5 and this is fine for visual use and short unguided exposures. For better results you would be looking at the HEQ5 or bigger.