Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Truss/Flex tube Dobs, how?

Mr Bond

Anyone got a pic of a flextube collapse mechanism, rods, bearings, locks etc?

I'm planning an attack on a 12" Dob and want to duplicate their mechanism.

No photos I've seen show the way it works and holds collimation.

Can you help?

Thanks, Phil.

don't know about the flextube ones but the ones here are very high quality and someone with your skills could easily replicate?

TELESCOPE TRUSS CLAMPS

These are indeed excellent quality truss clamps, but I seriously doubt you'll ever get the tube to slide through them as they grip onto it like an angry Pitt Bull.

They have to be opened to move the tube about. Not sure that would be of much use to your Flextube ideas.

Although I've no experience with them, these look like they could easily be modded to accommodate a sliding pole.

Maybe worth sending them an email.

MoonLite Telescope Accessories

Regards Steve

Have a look here.

http://www.cloudynights.com/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=0&Board=reflectors&Number=5028653&fpart=&PHPSESSID=

He used Moonlite clamps and ball and socket clamps for the top of the struts. I'll be converting my 16" Lightbridge from its current truss system to the collapsible 3 strut system. However with the greater Focal length and shorter height of my Lower OTA I'd be pushing the flextube type system (longer struts) beyond the point where it would hold autocollimator precision level collimation un-aided. As a result, I'll be adding a steel cable string tensioning virtual truss system. with a threaded bolt system in the struts so that I twist the 3 struts to tension the strings.