NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Not happy... :(

Disco

Could not for the life of me align my new 8se scope with either sky align or two star alignment... Had to stop after an hour as couldn't feel my feet or fingers.

Also when trying to align my finder red dot scope I used a street light to focus on. Big mistake, as I think I may of burnt out the back of my right eye....

Yes I am a complete amateur....

Well its not a lot diffrent to the Meade i had as my first scope and i think nearly all of us have a alignment problem first time out, so here's what a remember from back then, get the mount on some flat ground so in level, set the scope to point North and make sure its level, a spirit level on the top might help, power it up and set your lat/long numbers in the handset date time ect, it should now be ready to align, i used a bright star lower down but still pointing north, so when it slewed it would drop and move very little, once it was close to the chosen star put a high power EP in and centre, now's a good time to set your RDF as the scopes pointing at a star you have picked,then pick your second star 90" to the right or left depending on your best field of view, let it slew and use the RDF to move the scope and then center with the High Power EP, that should be it, i used to have to have several goes on most night as the scope would take it into its head that might chosen star was 180" degrees the wrong way, just switch it all off and start again, so after a week or so it just seems to work every time, do remember to turn on tracking as they seem to default to off, so once you get it sorted you will know your way about abit and not bother with the aligning, i switch mine on set the tracking and do it all manually much more fun and quicker.

Sorry to hear of your problems... A common thing to get wrong is the format of the date - it needs to be in american format month, day, year - and check time zone too.