Hello! Where to start?

Rusty-

Hi, im very new to all this, but always loved astronomy and after watching that stargazing programme the other night, i thought ide actually go about buying my own telescope :D

I'm 19, and have no experience what so ever.

If i could see things like Saturns rings for myself, it would be awesome!

Hi and welcome to the lounge.

Binoculars are normally a better start in astronomy as they help you learn the night sky quicker than using a scope. However, you would need a scope to see the rings of Saturn.

I'd suggest doing a little reading first and ask questions here about things you are unsure about.

Remember, there is no such thing as a stupid question. The last thing you'd want to do is buy a telescope from Argos (for example) and discover it is virtually unusable.

My tip is - any telescope which advertises its magnification is a toy and is to be avoided. Reputable manufacturers do not readily quote maximum potential magnification. Aperture (the width of the lens or mirror) is far more important as this is what collects light from an otherwise dark background.

Happy hunting!

Hi and welcome,

Don't go and buy one right away on your £50 - £150 budget.

Save it up each month for instance and you will defiantly see the plus side when you come to buy a scope.

Only my opinion mind.

Rob