Total beginner, advice needed please

Hi folks I'm a total beginner and I've been advised to start with a pair of bins, so can anyone recommend a decent pair for under£100 if I catch onto it I will upgrade as i go along. I've seen in jessops they sell the Nikon 10 22x50 action VII, are these any good? Or could you recommend a good pair and where to get them from, Help would be greatly appreciated, thank folks

Hi,

I am very new to astronomy also (since christmas).The bins I have are fantastic. Quite large but not too bad, easy to use for scanning the skies but after a while may need to put on a tripod for extended viewing of one object.

They are called Celestron Skymasters 15x70. You can get them on amazon.co.uk for around £50. I can't fault them. Great clarity, very crisp images.

Can easily see the more major objects like Orion nebula(M42) pleiades (M45) and andromeda galaxy (M31). The M numbers in brackets are the order of the objects as categorised by Charles Messier. You pick them up as u go along.

I seriously recommend the binoculars they also come with a tripod adapter.They got me so hooked that I recently bought a Skywatcher Skyliner 200p Dobsonian telescope and I love that too!

Felix

Skywatcher Skyliner 200p Dobsonian

Celestron Skymaster 15x70 Binoculars

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The Bino's suggested by Catman161 are best for astronomy. These ones will give you an exit pupil of 7mm. If you are under 60 years old and have good eyes, then the 15x70 will show you brighter images without loss of light.

The 10x50 bino's are also exceptional for astro.

Do not expect to see too much except stars and fuzz with binos. Some galaxy's are visible though as a white blur for example the Andromeda galaxy.

Star clusters look amazing.

You can see jupiter and all four moons with just binos. :D