Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Am I upgrading?

Ive been into this hobby for about two months now... got myself the cheap Celestron Astromaster to start out with and now I want something a little better. I was planning on purchasing a 6" Dob at a local telescope shop here in town. Right now my telescope is 70mm refractor. My question is am i going to be stepping up fairly well getting the 6" as a still beginner or should I consider waiting and getting something bigger like an 8" or a 10"..... though im not good at waiting lol

The general rule of thumb is double the apeture to match the refractor. For example, your 70mm would equate to a 140mm newt. So getting a 6" would only make for a little improvement over your current telescope. But an 8" would show a noticeable improvement if jumping up from a 70mm frac.

You are more then doubling your aperture, so more should be visible and ones you can see now should appear in greater detail and brightness.

Waiting for an 8" means more time, then it would be argued is it worth not getting the 8" and waiting for a 10", then the same arguement for a 10" and then a 12". It goes on.

The 6" (150) isn't too expensive.

They say a 4" increment is noticable so 2.75" to 6" isn't bad then you could go 6" to 10" and call it a day. If you get an 8" you will want a 10". However at 10" the step to 12" is significant in weight if not diameter.

The general rule of thumb is double the apeture to match the refractor. For example, your 70mm would equate to a 140mm newt. So getting a 6" would only make for a little improvement over your current telescope. But an 8" would show a noticeable improvement if jumping up from a 70mm frac.

I thought that rule of thumb died out in the 50s... The 6" will gather 4 times as much light than the refractor does, and will have better contrast due to its larger aperture. The CO on an F8 newt is negligible and should not affect contrast.