Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Explorer -150 & Astrophotography

After reading various threads and reviews it seems that this scope is ideal as a flexible, first scope. I just wondered whether any members or indeed owners of this scope could vouch for it's suitability for planetary observing and whether it is compatible with my Nikon D3100 DSLR? I understand it has a DSLR attachment, but will I need a motorised mount to take longer exposures?

This will be my first foray into practical astronomy, though I am studying Astronomy at University and am relatively familiar with the sky. A GO TO is therefore not something that interests me. My primary objective is planetary observatory and DSO. Is this scope an adequate jack of all trades?

Would really appreciate any input and suggestions from fellow members.

Thanks in advance. :D

As you can see from my sig. the 150P is the scope I use and I have found it very capable for lunar/planetry observing. As for DSOs, there are plenty to view with this scope but how well you see them depends on how dark the sky is.

As I don't do any imaging I'm sorry can't help you there.

HTH.

Are we talking about the 150P or the 150PL? I own thw 150P on an EQ3-2 and get great views of both planets and DSO although the shorter focal length (compared to the 150PL) leans slightly towards the DSO viewing side of the scale. If you are wanting to take long exposures for DSO its reccomended you will need an EQ5 mount as minimum as anything less is not stable enough and it will need to track. I use mine for planetary photography only using a webcam and have a set of trcking motors on mine and have got some good shots (moon only so far, click my Flikr link at the bottom). I dont own a DSLR but im pretty certain a T ting adapter is available for yours Hope this helps