Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I've got my eye on this scope...

CJBooth

So I'm a newbie, I haven't had a telescope of my own before and have been reading up on telescopes.

I've got my eye on this: SkyWatcher Explorer 150P EQ3-2 150mm Newtonian Reflector Telescope

I've started looking at this due to some of the advice on the forum that is posted in the beginner areas. A combination of cost (I've made the assumption that reflectors are cheaper than refractors due to the amount of glass used in a refractor, much like lenses in photography) the magnification that's adequate for a beginner like me and the fact it leaves me with some budget for books and such.

Have I made a good choice? Is my logic sound?

If not, what else should I be looking at.

I won't be making a purchase until I have been to one meet at the very least so I can have a sneaky peak at the scopes in use. :rolleyes:

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I know when I was checking out scopes 4 years ago I went for an EQ mount and reflector as I thought nudging a newt on a dobsonian mount would be a pain. One of the first things I discovered was that EQ mounts take some getting used to regarding where the eyepiece is located as the scope is pointed at different areas of the sky, resulting in having to rotate the scope tube to be able to look down the ep. The set up, whilst not being that hard once your used to it, does take a lot longer than a dob. I ended up building a dob mount for my 200p and wished I'd got it like that in the first place. The nudging is nothing like the issue I thought it would be.

So, with that in mind, how about this: First Light Optics - Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian

I would second the above comment, it's a bigger mirror as well, so will give you more objects that will be available to you.

If you decide in the future you want an EQ mount, they can be had for a good price second hand, and you could mount the 8" on it also at some point.