Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Where to start with a £500-£600 Budget?

Hi all,

Long time lurker/first time poster here!

I'm currently studying for a physics degree and I'm currently doing a large set of modules on observational astronomy. I'm very clued up on astronomy but absolutely rubbish when it comes to picking a telescope or knowing where to start. I have a healthy budget of around £500-£600 to get a good decent starter setup. I know full well I’m not going to get everything in a setup at that price and I'm happy to live with that.

So if you had my budget, what would you recommend as a good overall setup (eyepieces, mounts, scope etc)? I'll be mainly using it for planetary observation, lunar observation and viewing binaries. I expect the deep space objects to look no more than a tenuous silvery filament in the eyepiece and I’m fully aware how amateur scope views aren't like the advertisers tell/dupe you.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, ideally I'd like a tracking mount as I really struggled with my friends naff Celestron scope (cost him £40 and had non-moveable mount held in place by two screws) when I borrowed it over the spring. I'd ideally like to spend time viewing things as opposed to wandering around in the dark for hours trying to find something! Any pictures would be really great too!

Thank you for you time

:)

EDIT:....Just realised I've added this into the wrong thread! Doh...any chance it can be moved to the beginners section?

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome

If I had to buy a first scope with the budget you had I personally would go with this

First Light Optics - Skywatcher Skyliner 250PX Dobsonian

If its just for observing and not for astrophotography I think this would be ideal and probably the biggest aperture you can get for the money obviously I'm a beginner so I'd wait til you hear from the pro's on here and you'll get some sound advice

All the best

John