SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Mirror Making Class?

Glasspusher

I am thinking about starting a telescope mirror making class in Stockton-on-Tees, in the north east of England. If anyone is interested in attending such a class please get in touch with me. I can provide mirror blanks etc if required. At this stage the whole thing is just an idea, if I can get enough interested parties I will finalise details. I do not have a start date in mind; again this is dependent on the level of interest.

PM me your email address if you are interested.

John

John,

I'm a secondary school teacher in Scotland (Physics) and I run an astronomy club. Our club is fairly active and this year we aim to complete our build of a 12 inch dobsonian. We've already made the mirror cell and upper OTA, just the mirror box, rocker and of course, the mirror itself to go. After much thought we have decided to grind our own mirror - we are all new to mirror grinding but what we lack in experience we will make up with enthusiasm.

I followed (lurked) and was greatly impressed by your previous thread on mirror grinding and was certainly planning to make reference to the guidance there as we go along. Again, distance would preclude our direct involvement but if you are able to make anything from your classes available say on-line (videos, tutorials, blogs etc) it would be greatly appreciated. I know this would place an extra burden on you but the knowledge and experience you have is invaluable.

Jim

Yes, I think a tutorial on making mirrors would be very good. And if you could include some info on the turntable, such as the rotation speed, that would be very useful too. Links to sources of materials would also be handy. This is something I'd quite like to have a go at sometime.

John,