Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Using a Barlow

I'm still learning quite a lot as I'm going along with this and not sure of all the ins and outs of different bit of equipment.

So am I right in thinking that a barlow increases magnification?

If so is it possible to image with a barlow? and will they fit to any scope?

Thanks

When used for imaging the barlow increases the focal length and hence makes the object appear larger in your camera frame.

You use any barlow on any telescope. Just needs the right fittings ie 1.25" to 1.25" etc.

I feel sure some people might argue that a barlow does not magnify the image, but it doesn't seem to do too much harm to think of it that way in the simple case.

In theory a 2x barlow increases the focal length by a factor of 2, but that does seem to be fairly approximate. Depending on the make the factor may be greater from what I've read. You can also increase its effect by placing it before the diagonal rather than after, or using an extension after it.

I found the barlow shipped with some Skywatcher scopes to be rubbish. I believe the lens is plastic. I removed the lens from mine and use it as an extension tube now. As far as I can tell, opinion seems to be that TeleVue barlows and powermates are the dog's danglies, but if you can't afford a re-mortgage then the Celestron Ultima is one of the best 2x barlows for the money. ISTR that the Tal 3x barlow is also well-regarded. I have no specific experience of the Skywatcher Deluxe one, but if you're putting more glass in the light path, it probably pays to get the most decent quality one you can afford.

James

The Tal barlow is great vfm - Celestron Ultima (or Orion Shorty) are identical and best ones in the cheaper end (about £80'ish). Beyond that the TV Powermates are the best available :)

Ah right sorry I misread that previously.