NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

My 1st scope. Did I goof up?

I was going to pay a few grand for a new scope but being a complete novice, decided it wouldn't be my best choice.

I ended up buying a Twinstar iOptron GPS "Goto" 6" telescope that I found on Ebay ( mistake #1)?

After doing more research on the internet, some people really dogged out that scope while others stuck up for it. I have not had the chance to use it yet do to my work hours but planning to tonight. If conditions allow.

Does anyone have any helpful information on this scope or did I totally blow it on this one?

I have absolutely no experience of this particular telescope and mount at all and there is really only one way to find out how good it is and that is by pointing it at the night sky and trying it out!

The focal length of 1400mm is quite long and looking at the tube length it has to have been achieved by the inclusion of what is known as a 'relay' lens. This is not an ideal situation but this telescope is not alone in using this system - I used to have a Meade 4.5" telescope that used the same system.

Have fun on your first few nights out there and let us know how you get on.

Welcome to SGL!

Hi

Must admit I've never heard of it either.

I shouldn't worry too much the first scope I bought was a Tasco (not a name you associate with quality:D).

People say all sorts about em and none of it good, but it did me ok for a couple of years.

I wouldn't have thought you could have bought worse than I did.

Enjoyment is the main thing I knew I bought a dud but it didn't stop me from enjoying the sky.

Good luck with ya new toy.

Steve