Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello again all on SGL, A bit of advice needed again please, I have been reviewing Barlow lenses for about a week,(sorry, budget Barlows I mean). As the sky watcher one that came with my 130p is not very good at all to say the least. I have narrowed it down to a TAL x 2 (hard to get hold of) but really decent apparently, or a Celestron Omni x 2. Does anyone have much knowledge of these 2 barlows. As usual any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance..

I believe that a barlow doubles the magnification of the eyepiece it is used with. So in effect doubles your E.P collection. I also think that clarity of image can be sacrificed with certain Barlows, if not all. Sorry you probably know this already. I have never heard of a telextender ?? but I am a total newbie. Good luck.....

A 2x barlow will double the strength of an eyepiece so a 10mm becomes a 5mm. Best done with the highest quality you can afford. Tal's are great vfm at the budget end. Next up I would choose a Celestron Ultima or Orion Shorty Plus (recognised by most as the best you can get under £100 (around £80 new).

After that you'd be into Televue territory - Powermates being the best. You have to remember though that if you magnify the object you also magnify the atmosphere. It's not really worth doing with most supplied ep's that come with a new scope unless going for quality glass. It'd be better to get a single ep of the required size mostly. :hello2:

A telextender does the same thing as a barlow but uses a slightly different optical design to achieve it. Telextenders can have some advantages over barlow lenses one of which being that they maintain the original eye relief and focus point of the eyepiece being used. Meade markets telextenders:

Meade - Meade Series 5000 TeleXtenders

I owned the 2" 2x Meade for a while and it was pretty good although a heavy and bulky accessory.